Welcome to The Marias Platzl

Make yourself at home in Au-Haidhausen

Munich’s Platzl Hotel has a little sister. Let us introduce The Marias Platzl – right in the heart of the old Munich district of Au-Haidhausen.

FEEL AT HOME

Arrive in the old town of Munich and instantly feel at home. The Marias Platzl - with 34 newly renovated rooms - was opened in 2018 to supplement the city’s famous Platzl Hotel. Right on Mariahilfplatz, in the heart of quaint and pretty Au-Haidhausen, we let the character of traditional Munich come alive here. Welcome!

Our location is unique, and the ambience is something special. Traditional wall murals, copper, linen… you will encounter typically Bavarian craftsmanship and design throughout our hotel. The service: traditionally cordial. The feeling: being right at home.

Experience Au-Haidhausen

 

Haidhausen is the soul of Munich. If you want to get to know the real Munich from its most original side, then you have to visit ‘the Au’. The Auer Dult, which takes place three times per year, is one of the oldest markets in the city. Directly opposite the Marias Platzl, the Mariahilfkirche is one of the most important neo-Gothic buildings in Germany. Leafy beer gardens, vast green spaces and the superb Deutsches Museum are all worth visiting in this area too.

 

Experience Haidhausen

Celebrations in ‘The Au’

 

In our traditional hall you can celebrate at an event location with both character and history.

With clever craftsmanship and precise detail work, we have preserved the original Munich style to keep a traditional flair. Technology and comfortable facilities meanwhile meet the demand for modern conveniences. This, simply, is the perfect location in Munich’s Au-Haidhausen for a traditional wedding, cosy birthday or private celebration.

 

Celebrate with us

News from the Platzl Family

THE PLATZL FAMILY MAGAZINE

Always stay up to date with our informative and current magazine articles on the Platzl family and the historic state capital.

The room Gundi in the Marias Platzl Hotel in Munich with in shades of blue and a comfortable double bed.

MARIA'S PLATZL IN THE AU

Welcome to the traditional side of old Munich. ‘The Au’ was first mentioned in records in 1340, although its official incorporation into the royal capital did not follow until 1854.

After its completion in 1839, the Mariahilfkirche was the social centre of ‘the Au’. Today there’s always hustle and bustle at the Mariahilfplatz: this is the site of the weekly market, which takes place on Wednesdays and Saturdays. Bavarian customs & traditions are celebrated at the Auer Dult – a special event held here three times per year.

Walk across this historic square and you come to Marias Platzl. If you want to get to know the "old" Munich, this is the perfect place to do it!

 

muenchen_und_umgebung__7_.jpg

In addition to the Auer Dult and the weekly markets, other exciting places are very close: You need less than five minutes to the Isar River, and the climb to the Nockherberg starts just a stone's throw away. Be sure to see the Glockenbachviertel too, waiting on the other side of the Reichenbach Bridge. A recommendation for winter: a 15-minute walk brings you to the Haidhausen Christmas Market, which radiates holiday magic like no other.

 

 

The rest of Munich can also be reached quickly thanks to excellent connections with the public transport network. Be at Marienplatz, right in the centre of Munich, in 10 minutes by bus. While you’re there, you could visit the Platzl Hotel. Why not visit us for a meal in the Pfistermühle or a cocktail in the Platzl Karree?

Servus im kleinen Platzl Hotel

Grüß Gott in München Haidhausen

Das Platzl Hotel hat eine kleine Schwester bekommen. Dürfen wir vorstellen: Das Marias Platzl im altmünchner Stadtteil Au-Haidhausen!

HEIMATGEFÜHL

Ankommen in Altmünchen, wohlfühlen wie daheim! Das Marias Platzl mit 34 frisch-renovierten Zimmern wurde 2018 als Dependance des berühmten Platzl Hotels eröffnet. Direkt am Mariahilfplatz lassen wir den Charakter des traditionellen Münchens auf kreative Weise aufleben lassen. Willkommen!

Die Lage ist einmalig, das Ambiente etwas Besonderes: Frische Lüftlmalereien, Kupfer, Leinen, Loden – große Handwerkskunst begegnet Ihnen im ganzen Haus. Der Service: Bayerisch-herzlich. Das Gefühl: Heimat!

 

Haidhausen erleben

Haidhausen - die Seele Münchens. Wenn Sie die bayerische Landeshauptstadt von ihrer ursprünglichsten Seite kennenlernen möchten, müssen Sie zu uns in die Au kommen. Die dreimal jährlich stattfindende Auer Dult zählt zu den ältesten Märkten der Stadt und mit der Mariahilfkirche steht eine der bedeutendsten neugotischen Bauwerke Deutschlands direkt gegenüber vom Hotel

Haidhausen erleben

Feiern in der Au

In unserem „Kreszenz4 – Der Saal“ feiern Sie an einem ein Veranstaltungsort mit Charakter und Geschichte.

Mit handwerklicher Kunst und echter Detailarbeit haben wir das original Münchnerische bewahrt, während Technik und Komfort modernsten Ansprüchen genügt. Für eine traditionelle Hochzeit oder einen gemütlichen Geburtstag die perfekte Lokation in München-Haidhausen.

 

Feiern Haidhausen

Neuigkeiten von der Platzl Familie

PLATZL FAMILIE MÜNCHEN MAGAZIN

Bleiben Sie stets auf dem neuesten Stand mit unseren informativen und aktuellen Magazinbeiträgen rund um die Platzl Familie und die historische Landeshauptstadt.

marias-platzl-dz-gundi__6_.jpg

Marias Platzl in der Au

Willkommen in Altmünchen. Bereits im Jahr 1340 wurde die Au erstmals urkundlich erwähnt, auch wenn die offizielle Eingemeindung in die königliche Haupt- und Residenzstadt erst 1854 folgte.

Die Mariahilfkirche bildete nach ihrer Fertigstellung im Jahr 1839 das gesellschaftliche Zentrum der Au. Und auch heute herrscht auf dem vorgelagerten Mariahilfplatz stets ein reges Treiben: Mittwochs und samstags findet der Wochenmarkt statt und dreimal jährlich wird auf der Auer Dult bayerisches Brauchtum zelebriert.

Einmal quer über diesen historischen Platz und Sie kommen ins Marias Platzl. Wenn Sie das „alte“ München kennenlernen möchten, ist das die perfekte Unterkunft für Sie!

muenchen_und_umgebung__7_.jpg

Denn neben der Auer Dult und den Wochenmärkten sind weitere spannende Orte sehr nah: Kaum mehr als fünf Minuten brauchen Sie zur Isar, und der Anstieg zum Nockherberg beginnt nur einen Katzensprung entfernt. Falls Sie abends noch um die Häuser ziehen möchten, wartet gleich auf der anderen Seite der Reichenbachbrücke das Glockenbachviertel. Eine Empfehlung für den Winter: Nach nur 15 Gehminuten versprüht der Haidhauser Weihnachtsmarkt besinnlichen Feiertagszauber.

Auch der Rest von München ist dank hervorragender Anbindung an das öffentliche Verkehrsnetz schnell zu erreichen. Mit dem Bus sind Sie in 10 Minuten am Marienplatz – und somit auch unserem Stammhaus nicht mehr fern. Besuchen Sie uns doch auf ein Essen in der Pfistermühle, oder wie wärs mit einem Cocktail im Platzl Karree?